top of page

Help is on the way

I was asked to help out for my cousin's and partner's pre-wedding photoshoot the other Monday. The weather was despondent and I uttered a prayer in my hear for 雨过天晴 (yuguotianqing), or bright day after the rain, as I trudged happily en route to my cousin's at mid-day. Taking a total of two-and-a-half hours to get hair and makeup ready in her well-airconditioned room, it was a nail-biting wait as the beautiful bride finally emerged - full face of photoshoot-worthy makeup and a half-do which was simply breathtaking. I can only imagine how much of a princess, or queen, she will look like on 12.12 - their actual wedding day at the end of this year.


Thank God that He answered my prayer by the time we reached the Singapore Botanical Gardens. For those out there who are looking for a potential venue for pre-wedding shots, head down to the famous pavilion that is accessible through the entrance at the Tyersall [tai-yer-sal] Gate. By Grab ride, it was a twenty-minutes car journey from the east-side of our little island. Magical, it was indeed.

^ Warm-up for the first half hour while the couple tried out different poses and got the hang of things as it was also their first time working with their photographer

Side note: He took so beautiful shots that I myself would consider hiring him for my own wedding.


Little did I realise how much work a couple had to put in for their photoshoot. Carefully manicured and edited pictures which can typically be viewed at the entrance of the wedding luncheons or banquets, had tons of sweat (sometimes tears) and thought into them before the final product is ready for printing. It made me appreciate the effort that goes into preparing for THE BIG DAY.


After what seemed to take an eternity, the highly sought-after pavilion was finally empty and we half-skipped to take tens of photos, the cameraman with his prized possession, me using the only electronic I had on me (what are we to do without our cell nowadays?)

^ Lo, the icon of the Singapore Botanic Gardens. Always Instagram-worthy and timeless, really.


 

Anecdote of the afternoon: This little rooster, nicknamed by me Mr. Cock-a-Doodle, kept following the golden couple around the Gardens for the better half of the pre-wedding shoot. Surprisingly, he was hardly afraid to be around humans and neared our group of 4 the entire time we were at the various spots. What a character!


 



Other than Botanic Gardens, we decided there was enough time for a second venue, and the groom had selected Upper Seletar Reservoir as they had not gotten permission to use their alma mater as they'd originally intended. We made a mad rush for the Reservoir (alighted from Grab car at Car Park B) as the sun was already setting by the time we wrapped up at the Gardens, which is located near Bukit Timah.


Besides the wonderfully dreamy shots our gifted photographer captured due to the magnificent evening sunset once we reached the Reservoir, the below had to be in my top two favourite photos of the day.

Purplish skies gave way to darkness as the sun set over the large mass of water and we stood there taking nature in, in its full candidness. On the cue of our photographer, it was a wrap by a quarter-past-seven. We headed back for a scrumptious home-cooked meal of satay-beehoon lovingly prepared by my cousin's domestic helper. Nothing beat eating together with family on this lovely and fruitful day.


Credits: All photos taken with Samsung S8+ and shot by yours truly

 
"Marriage lets you annoy one special person for the rest of your life.” - Unknown

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page