top of page

What gave birth to me

First off, this will be a short read because it is essentially an origin story. I was conceived on one late night in 2020 post-circuit breaker, or quarantine, due to the COVID-19 pandemic that has plagued planet Earth for the whole year thus far. Sadly, it seems that a vaccine is still a far stretch though many countries are scrambling to develop one in record time.


It was a typical night, though I was up later than my usual bedtime and feeling somewhat introspective. I'd had diaries which documented much of my childhood and teenage years, and occasionally penned down thoughts in journals for the bulk of university. Being more technologically-challenged than most people in modern society, starting this blog of sorts was always the last thing on my mind.


You know, being a pen-to-paper person (yes, I'm talking to you, mate), it takes courage to navigate and design a website "from scratch". Simply selecting this platform took a few hours of research and comparison of the varied competing resources available. To find one which did not require any coding knowledge was God-sent.


Flipping through the pages of my diaries and notebooks left me speechless as I came to realise they had a striking theme of hope and strength. Be it standing up to the class bully when I was five, to dealing with the loss of a loved one at the age of seventeen, or coping by myself with the reality of an attempted rape by a trusted colleague during my college internship -- for some reason, I healed myself piece by piece through jotting down my reflections on paper, equipped only with my favourite ink pens.


I hope you too will find strength and encouragement in the entries which are deep in the recesses of my heart. I have chosen to share them with the world anonymously for the first time as I know of too many who themselves have no one to turn to in darkest times. I wish for this site to be that silent listener and reflective space for you to share your innermost thoughts which are sometimes embarrassing, judmental or even taboo. Fingers crossed that this first internet footprint of mine will turn out to be an uplifting source for some of you out there. Stay strong!



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page